#61 – See the oldest (sugar) Maple tree in Canada

Spoilers; this post is going to go to a pretty hippie granola place.  You’ve been warned.

When we first pulled up to the Comfort Maple, it wasn’t what I was expecting.  The tree was in a lovely grassy little park in the middle of nowhere in Pelham, surrounded by crop fields.  I’m not sure what was my expectation (maybe a tree so large it blocked out the sun?), but whatever it was, the Comfort Maple wasn’t immediately it.

Then we spent some time with the tree (here comes the hippie part), and this tree had a presence.  There was something about it that felt aware and very zen.  I had a serious moment connecting with that tree and left much calmer than I had been all weekend.  It was a beautiful and peaceful spot.  If you are able to visit, I recommend it.

Image

Image

Details: More information can be found here and directions to the tree can be found here.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment